GENERAL FAQs

1. When is a good time to have a MILO®?

A glass of MILO® and milk is a nutritious drink, great to have if your child needs a nutritional boost, at any time of the day, including:

• Start your day with a glass of MILO® and milk as part of a healthy and varied breakfast e.g. wholegrain toast with baked beans or eggs, a piece of fruit and a glass of MILO® and milk.

• Before sport as a snack with a piece of fruit to provide a ready source of carbohydrates to fuel working muscles and provide energy during activity.

• After sport fuel as it contains a great source of fluid, carbohydrates, minerals and protein needed to replenish exhausted muscles.

• Nutritious lunchbox snack helps kids who are not getting all of their daily dairy serves. A nutritious lunch box should contain healthy foods from each food group e.g. wholegrain bread sandwich with salad and chicken, a piece of fruit, vegetable sticks with hummus, a serve of dairy such as yoghurt or a MILO® RTD and don’t forget to pack a bottle of water.

2. How many glasses of MILO® and milk can my kids have each day?

For active kids who need a nutritional boost, having one 200mL glass of MILO® and milk helps meet the daily serves, and easily fits into a balanced eating pattern.

Dietary Guidelines recommend children 4-11 years consume two to three serves of dairy foods a day to meet their daily calcium needs.

For more specific advice on your child's individual dietary needs, please consult your healthcare professional or an accredited practising dietitian.

3. How much sugar is in MILO® CLASSIC NZ TASTE?

There is 4.5 teaspoons of total sugars in a glass of MILO® CLASSIC NZ TASTE and milk. 2.5 teaspoons of this are natural sugars, coming from lactose in the fresh milk. The remaining 2 teaspoons of sugar in the MILO® CLASSIC NZ TASTE powder is made up of natural sugar from milk powder (lactose), maltose from malted barley and sucrose from cane sugar.

4. How often can kids have a MILO® RTD?

For active kids who are on the go and need a nutritional boost, having one 200mL MILO® RTD helps meet the daily serves, and easily fits into a balanced eating pattern.

Dietary Guidelines recommend children 4-11 years consume two to three serves of dairy foods a day to meet their daily calcium needs.

For more specific advice on your child's individual dietary needs, please consult your healthcare professional or an accredited practising dietitian.

5. At what age can I give my child MILO®?

MILO® powder & RTD is most suitable for primary school-aged children and adolescents. It is not suitable for infants and very young toddlers (i.e. less than two years). Toddlers from one year of age are encouraged to have plain full cream milk as a drink. Please speak to your healthcare professional for specific dietary advice.

6. Does MILO® contain caffeine?

Caffeine naturally occurs in cocoa. MILO® powder contains 0.011-0.024g caffeine/100g MILO® i.e. 2.2mg-4.8mg per 20g serve MILO®. This is less than 10% of the caffeine found in a cup of instant coffee (2g of instant coffee has around 70mg caffeine per serve).

7. The RDI’s are for adults, yet MILO® is often consumed by kids. Why don’t you use RDI’s for children?

Food Standards Australia and New Zealand (FSANZ) provide Recommended Dietary Intakes (RDI) that are set for food manufacturers, based on an average adult diet. There are no RDIs for children in the Food Standards Code. MILO® provides 8 essential vitamins and minerals important for healthy growth and development in children.

8. How much sugar is in MILO® Ready to Drink (RTD) tetra pack?

There is 4 teaspoons of total sugars in MILO® RTD. Over half the sugar in MILO® RTD are natural sugars, coming from the fresh milk.

9. My child has milk protein allergy. Can they have MILO®?

No. MILO® contains milk protein and is unsuitable for people with milk protein allergy.

10. I am lactose intolerant. Can I have MILO® with milk substitutes like soy milk?

MILO® powder contains milk solids. The lactose content of MILO® powder is 2.5g per 20g serve. Consult your health care professional for individual dietary advice.

11. My child has a peanut allergy. Can he/she have MILO®?

There are no peanuts used within the MILO® factory. All ingredient suppliers have declared that the materials they supply to the MILO® factory do not have any traces of peanuts.

12. Is MILO® suitable for people with coeliac disease?

MILO® is NOT gluten free; this is indicated on the ingredient list on the label. MILO® contains traces of gluten from the malt barley and other grains used in producing MILO®. Gluten is found naturally in wheat, barley, rye, triticale and oats.

13. Is MILO® suitable for vegetarians?

If you are a vegetarian who avoids milk products, you should be aware that MILO® does contain milk solids.

14. Why do you use palm oil in Milo® Classic NZ Taste?

The vegetable oil in MILO® NZ Classic Taste is sustainably sourced palm oil, certified segregated and traceable by RSPO. The vegetable oil contributes to the texture and smooth mouth feel Kiwis love.  We are very conscious of the issues surrounding palm oil and its production which can cause deforestation and harm to wildlife which is why we have committed that our products will not be associated with deforestation. For more information please visit: https://bit.ly/2yv3Onw.

MILO® XTRA FAQs

1. How is MILO® XTRA different to original MILO®?

MILO® XTRA has more of the things you love. XTRA crunch, XTRA chocolatey taste and XTRA protein compared to original MILO® – 12.5g protein, per serve, when prepared with skim milk vs. original MILO®, 10g protein, per serve, when prepared with skim milk. That’s 25% more protein.

2. What is MILO® XTRA made from?

MILO® XTRA is based on the same core ingredients as original MILO®; malt barley, milk powder, cocoa and sugar. We’ve added more cocoa and high protein milk powder to increase the protein and give you that XTRA chocolatey taste.

3. What type of milk should I use with MILO® XTRA?

We recommend skim or reduced fat milk to be used with MILO® XTRA.

4. What is the serve size of MILO® XTRA?

Three heaped teaspoons (25g) of MILO® XTRA prepared in 200ml skim milk.

5. What is the Glycemic Index of MILO® XTRA?

MILO® XTRA when prepared with skim milk has a low GI of 32.

6. Where does the protein in MILO® XTRA come from?

We’ve added extra high protein milk powder and extra cocoa to increase the protein content in the MILO® XTRA powder. The fresh milk you add to a glass of MILO® XTRA also adds protein.

7. Where does the XTRA chocolatey taste come from?

We’ve added extra cocoa to give you that XTRA intense chocolatey flavour you love

8. Where does the XTRA crunch come from?

The XTRA crunch comes as a result of adding in the XTRA cocoa and XTRA milk powder. When manufactured it results in more crunch.

9. What elements of the pack are recyclable (RedCycle vs. kerbside etc.)?

The MILO® XTRA tin and lid are recyclable and can be put in your recycling bin at home. The foil seal is not recyclable and must be placed in your general waste bin.

10. Are there any artificial sweeteners or preservatives?

No. MILO® XTRA only use a Natural Flavour

11. Does MILO® XTRA contain gluten?

Yes. MILO® XTRA does contain gluten.

12. Does MILO® XTRA contain barley?

Yes. MILO® XTRA does contain barley.

13. Does MILO® XTRA contain dairy or milk products?

Yes. MILO® XTRA contains milk solids/milk powder.

14. Is MILO® XTRA dairy free?

No. MILO® XTRA contains milk solids/milk powder.

15. Is MILO® XTRA lactose free?

No. MILO® XTRA contains milk solids/milk powder.

16. Does MILO® XTRA contain soy?

Yes. MILO® XTRA does contain soy.

17. Is MILO® XTRA suitable for a vegetarian diet?

Yes. MILO® XTRA is suitable for a vegetarian diet.

18. Is MILO® XTRA suitable for a vegan diet?

No. MILO® XTRA is not suitable for a vegan diet.

19. Is MILO® XTRA Halal certified?

No. This product is not Kosher certified.

20. Is MILO® XTRA Kosher certified?

No. This product is not Kosher certified.

21. Is MILO® XTRA free from artificial colours and flavours?

Yes. MILO® XTRA free from artificial colours and flavours.

MILO® Plant Based Energy FAQs

1. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy dairy free?

MILO® Plant Based Energy contains no dairy-based ingredients. When added to soymilk, MILO® Plant Based energy is a delicious dairy alternative. We can’t say its ‘dairy free’ because it’s made at the same factory as original MILO®, so it may contain milk from the manufacturing line.

2. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy lactose free?

MILO® Plant Based Energy contains no dairy-based ingredients. You can see in the NIP the lactose content is less than 0.2g per 20g serve. We can’t say its ‘lactose free’ because it’s made in the same factory as original MILO®, so it may contain lactose from the manufacturing line.

3. How is MILO® Plant Based Energy different to original MILO®?

MILO® Plant Based Energy is different to original MILO® because it contains no dairy-based ingredients. We’ve taken out the milk powder and added plant based ingredients from soy, oat and corn fibre to create a delicious dairy alternative with the iconic choc-malt taste and crunch you know and love. MILO® Plant Based Energy is also lower in sugar compared to original MILO® - 5.4g total sugars per 20g serve in MILO® Plant Based Energy vs. 8.8g total sugars per 20g serve in Original MILO®, that’s 38% less sugar.

4. What is MILO® Plant Based Energy made from?

MILO® Plant Based Energy is based on the same core ingredients as original MILO®; malt barley and cocoa, but we’ve taken out the milk powder and added plant based ingredients from soy, oat and corn fibre to create a delicious dairy alternative. We’ve also reduced the added cane sugar but kept the delicious iconic choc-malt taste and crunch you know and love.

5. What type of milk should I use with MILO® Plant Based Energy?

We recommend Lite Soymilk to be used with MILO® Plant Based Energy. Soymilk is a nutritious alternative to dairy milk and provides a source of calcium if you choose a soymilk that is fortified with extra vitamins and minerals such as calcium

6. What is the serve size of MILO® Plant Based Energy?

Three heaped teaspoons (20g) of MILO® Plant Based Energy prepared in 200ml Reduced fat soymilk.

7. What is the Glycemic Index of MILO® Plant Based Energy?

We are currently in the process of GI testing MILO® Plant Based Energy and reduced fat soymilk. We can get back to you when the GI results are completed.

8. Does MILO® Plant Based Energy contain gluten?

Yes. MILO® Plant Based Energy does contain gluten in the malt barley ingredient. Malt barley naturally contains gluten. Without malt barley, MILO® would not have the iconic choc-malt taste you know and love.

9. Does MILO® Plant Based Energy contain barley?

Yes. MILO® Plant Based Energy does contain barley.

10. Does MILO® Plant Based Energy contain soy?

Yes. MILO® Plant Based Energy does contain soy.

11. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy suitable for a vegetarian diet?

Yes. MILO® Plant Based Energy is suitable for a vegetarian diet.

12. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy suitable for a vegan diet?

Yes, MILO® Plant Based Energy is vegan friendly. MILO® Plant Based does not contain dairy based ingredients, we label on the can that it ‘may contain milk’ as it is produced in the same factory as original MILO®.

In line with recognised Vegan Certification Standards, processes are in place to minimise any risk of cross contamination. As a precaution, we label that the product may contain milk, which is aligned with industry best practise, so that allergic consumers can make an informed choice.

13. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy Halal certified?

No. This product has not been included in our Halal certified evaluation. It may be halal suitable.

14. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy Kosher certified?

No. This product is not Kosher certified.

15. Is MILO® Plant Based Energy free from artificial colours and flavours?

Yes. MILO® Plant Based Energy is free from artificial colours and flavours.

16. Is the Vitamin D animal-derived?

No, the vitamin D in our MILO Plant Based Energy is vegan friendly. There are no animal or dairy derived ingredients in this new delicious MILO recipe

MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR FAQs

1. How have you achieved the sugar reduction in MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

We have taken out all the added cane sugar (sucrose). The remaining added sugars are mainly from the Malt Barley, the main ingredient in MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR.

2. What is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR made from?

Like MILO® CLASSIC NZ TASTE, MILO 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contains Malt Barley, Milk Solids and Cocoa. For this product, we have taken out all the added Cane Sugar. NEW ingredients we have added are soluble corn fibre to keep the crunch and texture and natural Stevia to maintain the sweet taste.

3. What is the serve size of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

20g (three heaped teaspoons) of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR prepared in 200ml skim or reduced fat milk. This is the same serve size as MILO® CLASSIC NZ TASTE.

4. What is the Glycemic Index of MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR?

The GI is low (42) when made with skim milk.

5. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain gluten?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain gluten.

6. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain barley?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain barley.

7. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain milk products? Is it Dairy / Lactose free?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain milk products and therefore is not dairy or lactose free.

8. Does MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR contain soy?

Yes. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR does contain soy.

9. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR suitable for a vegetarian diet?

Yes, MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR is suitable for a vegetarian diet.

10. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR suitable for a vegan diet?

No. MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR is NOT suitable for a vegan diet, as it contains milk powder.

11. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR Halal certified?

This product has not been included in our Halal certified evaluation. It may be halal suitable.

12. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR Kosher certified?

The product is not made with Kosher-certified milk powder, therefore it would not be Kosher suitable.

13. Is MILO® 30% LESS ADDED SUGAR free from artificial colours and flavours?

Yes

14. How much sugar is in MILO® 30% Less Added Sugar?

MILO® 30% Less Added Sugar contains 16g total sugar per serve (20g serve in 200ml skim milk). The Nutrition Information Panel breaks this down further into 12.5g lactose (natural sugar found in milk) and 3.5g added sugars (sugar in the malt barley).